IMPALA Press Release - IMPALA elects new Board with Jonas Sjostrom and Mark Kitcatt stepping up to new roles

Berlin, 8th September 2011

At its AGM held yesterday at Popkomm in Berlin, IMPALA elected a new 24-strong board representing independent music companies from across Europe.

The board will be chaired by Jonas Sjöström (Edel, Playground), with Mark Kitcatt (Everlasting Records) joining Patrick Zelnik (Naïve), and Michel Lambot ([PIAS] Entertainment Group) as Co-Presidents. Helen Smith will continue in her role as Executive Chair.
The new board kick-started its work with a debate on new ways to develop the on-line market - key to levelling the playing field for the sector.

The new Board is (in alphabetical order):

·      Stephan Bourdoiseau, Wagram  
·      Larry Bringsjord, FONO (Norwegian national association)
·      Geert De Blaere, BIMA (Belgian national association)
·      Roger Dorresteijn, Epitaph  
·      Johan Ekelund, Kobalt Music
·      Christof Ellinghaus, VUT (German national association)
·      Martin Goldschmidt, Cooking Vinyl
·      Dag Haeggqvist, Gazell Records
·      Mark Kitcatt, Everlasting Records
·      Tapio Korjus, Indieco (Finnish national association)
·      Michel Lambot, [PIAS] Entertainment Group
·      Cai Leitner, Cosmos Music Group
·      Martin Mills, Beggars Group
·      Noemi Planas, UFI (Spanish national association) 
·      Jérôme Roger, UPFI (French national association)
·      Jonas Sjöström, Edel Music, Playground Music and SOM (Swedish national association)
·      Helen Smith, Executive Chair
·      Maria Romana Trainini, PMI (Italian national association)
·      Marcus Turner, CNR Entertainment
·      Robin Van Beek, 8Ball Music
·      Kees Van Weijen, STOMP (Dutch national association)   
·      Horst Weidenmüller, !K7
·      Alison Wenham, AIM (UK national association)
·      Patrick Zelnik, Naïve
Helen Smith, Executive Chair said: “We are delighted Jonas and Mark are stepping up, along with five new board members. The diversity and experience of the board will shape our vision for the next two years and launch new initiatives to help independents and their artists be more competitive.

IMPALA was established in April 2000 to represent independent music companies. 99% of Europe’s music companies are small or medium sized enterprises (SMEs). Known as the “independents”, they are world leaders in terms of innovation and discovering new music and artists - they produce more than 80% of all new releases. The independents also produce 80% of the sector’s jobs.

The potential of the sector is enormous. Key investment, online and market access measures are expected to be put in place at European and national level for the independents and other cultural and creative SMEs - now officially recognised by the EU as “the drivers of growth, job creation and innovation”. Fostering Europe's economy of culture and diversity is one of Europe’s top priorities in becoming the world's leading knowledge economy. Culture is a bigger earner than any of chemicals, automobiles or ICT manufacturing and provides more than 3% of Europe's jobs.

IMPALA has 4,000 members including the top independents: !K7 (Germany), Anaconda Productions (Poland), Beggars Group (UK), Cosmos Music Group (Sweden), CLS Music (Hungary), CNR (NL), Cooking Vinyl (UK), Edel (Germany), Epitaph (US/NL), Everlasting (Spain), Gazell (Sweden), Kobalt (Sweden), Menart (Croatia), Musicvertrieb (Switzerland), Naïve (France), [PIAS] Entertainment Group (Benelux, UK and France), Playground (Sweden), Red Bullet (NL), Wagram (France), as well as national trade associations from the UK (AIM), France (UPFI), Germany (VUT), Spain (UFI), Italy (PMI), Belgium (BIMA), Denmark (DUP), Netherlands (STOMP),  Norway (FONO), Israel (PIL), Indieco (Finland) and Sweden (SOM).

IMPALA has its own award schemes to promote cultural diversity and new talent and highlight the artistic contribution of independent music. IMPALA award winning artists include Efterklang, Adele, Radiohead, Arctic Monkeys, Carla Bruni, Manu Chao, Corneille, Katie Melua, Franz Ferdinand, The Prodigy, Placebo and Ibrahim Ferrer (Buena Vista Social Club).

Please visit , call +32 2 503 31 38 or contact IMPALA on